top of page
My Pick:
Search By Tag:
No tags yet.
Stay In The Know:

How It All Got Started


Welcome 2016!

2015 went by in a flash. It seems like it was yesterday that I got this crazy idea to start making jewelry. I love wearing jewelry and shopping for everyday jewelry items. Something I don't love is buying something simple and chic and it breaks the first time I wear it or it turns colors. I think to myself....I just paid 24 dollars for that!!! No, that isn't a lot of money, but coming from meager means I tend to be very picky what I spend my money on. So if I shell out 24 dollars for a piece of jewelry it better last for a couple of wears. I started to take a closer look in the stores and wondering how much it cost to make some of these beautiful pieces of jewelry. I put my internet research skills to work and started investigating prices. I had no idea what I was doing. First I bought a few things from here or there. When it all arrived at my house I started to realize, oh I need this or that to finish the piece. That little parts start to add up and you can’t just buy one jump ring or lobster claw clasp. You have to buy a package of them. So getting started was a little bit of a sticker shock. Once I had all those findings it was easier to get the shiny parts and creative bits without spending too much at one time. Although I can’t seem to decide on what I want so I end up with more than I need. When I started making my own jewelry to wear I would get the nicest compliments and people would ask if I could make them one. After making some close friends some fabulous looking jewelry I was asked, why don’t you start selling these. Huh, I had never thought about doing it for profit or a business. First I listed a few things on Etsy and waited. Three months later I started jumping for joy when I got my first sell! But one sell in three months is not a lot. I started looking into local craft fairs and that is where I got lucky. People love my work and they are buying. Looking back on the year I would say that I have made almost all the money back that I spent… so no profit….yet. Here is hoping I have another good year of learning the ropes and creating beautiful designs.

bottom of page